Okay, so deleted posts remain present for a week - but only permanently secured if someone bookmarks it?
post
replies:
Comments attached to a deleted post ought to remain available from the user pages of those who posted them indefinitely, bookmarked or not.
I'm not sure if Piefed works that way already, but I'm pretty sure Lemmy doesn't and I don't like it. Somebody else's decision to delete their own shit should never result in the removal of mine.
Does this apply to communities on lemmy, if we're viewing from a piefed account? I'm not quite clear on whether this is being cached on the host instance or the individual federated instances.
This is huge. Honestly not knowing if a user deleted his post or it was deleted by mods has been wierd.

all 18 comments