Some clients for social media allow you to add tags to other users. Basically just a mark only you can see. That way if you encounter them again you know who you're dealing with. Generally used negatively, to mark people you don't like. Upgrading to blocked just means converting that into a full software block for whatever platform. Generally meaning you won't see that user and they won't see you again.
post
So others don't have to search for the missing context like I did: https://piefed.ca/post/887087#comment_5810045
It means that person had previously tagged you for being a suspected troll before deciding to block you entirely.
I have yet to see anyone complain about being blocked, reviewed the evidence, and agreed with the complainer. I'm sure it happens, but the pattern seems strong.
I mean, I don't go hang out at .ml because I'd probably get blocked there so I don't go. They don't want me and I don't want them. I don't see a problem there.
I have, dozens of time but all before the advent of social media. Back when the online forum was the peak of the 'community online around a specific shared interest' experience on the web.
If the website you were on happened to already be the "peak" of its niche, typically that was because it contained both the best content, and a user base that was also top notch ( high user knowledgebase, agreeable ruleset, nuanced moderation).
This led to a common scenario between user 1("You") and user 2 (We'll call him...Fred. Name not changed and non-zero chance he'll see this so...Go to hell Fred, you greatly capable and insufferable fuck) vis a vis using the block button:
Fred might have absolutely made you want to tear out your own intestines out your asshole, so you could strangle him with them, that being the only weapon available to you on the deserted island you both had no choice but to inhabit.
(The island being you two representing the absolute pinnacle of your specific niche's expertise, and the only other source of the stimulating conversation in the micro-tangetial topic thread on the board's "Off-topic" section, that also happened to be an absolute requirement to be able to push mastery of specific niche further)
Because he could press every fucking button you have. Including engaging back (in full blunt rude)but only up to the point that would (upon later, actual meaningful introspection driven review) reveal itself to be the most devastatingly irony bomb possible.
Then Fred blocks your ass. You stew in whatever way is your way, in your own juices. But the thread is still open. The topic still has to be discussed.
You interact with the rest of the users, and genuinely enjoy your time. You don't need to push the envelope for specific niche to be...well it's still fun anyhow.
But the thread is still open, and the topic has to be discussed.
You make accounts at the other, onstensibly "lesser" communities for specific niche in other forums. You engage and have a good time. But there is no Fred to be found there. The copy of the thread you make there, does not go anywhere.
You sigh, and open the original thread and your private messages up side by side, make some coffee, and read it all again. Fred set you up the bomb, it detonates, you curse his audacity again.
Then you private message someone else in the forum. You ask them to tell Fred for you, that he was right, and you're sorry.
The next day, a new reply hits the thread from Fred, addressing the one you had previously left that he blindfolded himself against as a masterful weapon.
Because the thread is still open, and the topic has to be discussed.
I've been both user, mod, admin, and owner of many a forum back in the day. There were always multiple pairs of Fred and I. The roles would reverse often. The pattern was always there.
The paradigms imposed by the then design meant we had to treat each other differently. A little less disposably.
Fred unfortunately developed early onset dementia and it got bad a few months shy of his 52nd turn around this dirtball. He found a way to block me more throughly.
And the forum was closed a long time ago. But I snagged both the domain, and a front end scraped copy, which I migrated over a fresh install. If Fred ever unblocks me, the thread will still be open, and topic left to be discussed.
Tagging someone so you know what kind of bullshit they're on vs. blocking so you don't see their bullshit at all.
Some apps allow you to label users, such as with "dodgy" or "asshole" or whatever
And folks often use that to keep tabs on folks they see around often that they're not certain about, where they're like "well, the other time I interacted they were chill, maybe just a bad day?"
So the phrase is effectively saying "I'm done giving you the benefit of the doubt, I will no longer interact with you"
A tag is a user-defined attribute linked to your username. This may also include tracking how many times they up and down vote your posts/comments and aggregate displayed as a single number with a plus or minus sign, depending on which way it's going.
Think of it like a hashtag. But just for you, defined by only them.
Maybe it's "dumbass, racist, transphobic -11" or "sweetheart, inspirational, dogpics +9000"
How can you tag users ? I don't think Voyager lets me do that, at least I haven't found
I had the same question and found: https://lemmy.world/post/22183725
Settings -> enable user tags
You can. Tap on their username to view their profile, click the three dots menu in the upper left, then tap "edit tag".
Alternately and much faster, long press on a username and the resultant menu also has the option. I didn't know that until today!
It means someone tagged you, probably for what they consider bad behavior, and then you did it again and they blocked you.
It’s just cock waving. They blocked you, that’s all you need to (not) care about.

all 36 comments