One of the long-standing issues we have in/on the fediverse is that when I have a link in my post that goes to another post on my instance, people on other instances will click that link and be taken to MY instance, where they can't comment, don't have an account, aren't logged in, etc and they will try to log in using their login credentials for their home instance then wonder why it doesn't work.

When someone links to https://lemmy.world/post/39832275 and I'm on piefed.social I want to see https://piefed.social/c/news/p/1544770/national-parks-ordered-to-check-gift-shops-for-dei-type-items not the copy on lemmy.world!

As of PieFed v1.4, links like that will automatically be converted to link to the local copy of the post, where 'local' is whatever is local for the reader. See the linked video where I demonstrate this in action.

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 1 point 11 months ago (8 children)

I have the reverse problem that when I'm on PieFED using blorp and I want to share a post, it always shares the blorp version of the post. When I would ideally like to share the canonical URL and give credit to the original source. Voyager and lemmy has a way to specify this option for sharing, but as far as I can tell blorp does not.

  • source
  • hideshow 8 child comments
  • [–] 6 points 11 months ago (1 child)

    @moseschrute@lemmy.world FYI

    Something about this feature @rimu@piefed.social is showing off is that it is only doing the link substitution in the web frontend. Any links in posts/comments will remain unchanged in the API that clients like blorp and voyager. This lets the different clients deal with this as they would like.

    It might be possible to do this substitution on PieFed's side for API responses, but I think it should not be the default. We would need some way for an API client to indicate that this is what would be desired.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 1 child comment
  • [–] 3 points 11 months ago (3 children)

    Sorry I should have fixed this a long time ago. Though I was considering having it open in Blorp and then showing “continue on Blorp” or “view original”. Something like that. Basically, let the receiver decide instead of the sharer. But maybe that’s not the right move. Anyway, I stalled on fixing it because I couldn’t decide the right solution. What I wanted to avoid was over complicating the share menu.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 3 child comments
  • [–] 1 point 11 months ago* (2 children)

    I can appreciate that! Keeping share to minimum actions needed is very appreciated!

    This is how it looks like in Voyager settings (for the sake of discussion). What did you think of having a preference in the settings?

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 2 child comments