post
Do you trust them to really delete everything?
Or even anything?
I am pretty sure that every data they ever gathered about you is still there, just marked as hidden. Data is their currency; you don't throw that away.
I deleted my Google account in January of 2023 and had not been using it primarily since 2018. I honestly don't trust them to have deleted the data, but since I'm not adding to the data, it's getting older and older and therefore less and less valuable to them because they don't know what I am like now. They only know what I was like as of the beginning of 2023, which for advertising is kind of useless.
Mine has been around for ages and I'm itching to delete it. But sometimes it comes in handy with an edge case where I do need a non-work Google account. I'm of the opinion that they'll keep some sort of shadow profile kicking around after I delete the account, but it'll at least feel liberating when I do.
Yes, no big deal.
Did data checkout before this way I brought my then YouTube videos to my PeerTube server.
Yes I do believe they deleted my data because with GDPR I'd they did not the fine would be huge. Even if they didn't its outdated anyway.
I deleted one I didn't even remember having. Something I created back when I first got a smart phone and as much as I recall think I used it for the primary phone login account and had my separate emails just in the client.
Only got reminded of it when they sent an email to my main address saying it had been inactive for years and was going to be deleted anyhow, so went through this process where they unlocked it after a month of waiting to see what was in there before shutting it down. Was pretty much blank from the start so it doesn't really matter if they actually deleted it or not.
How my main email got set as a recovery is another question, probably just many years back brain not being so good at keeping online identities siloed.
It is my unconfirmed opinion that even though they say they have deleted your data and account, it still exists on some backup in some server farm somewhere.
Nah, just deleted relevant data and left it there to rot in their servers.
Yeah. I'm not sure if they deleted everything but at least I can disconnect myself from further tracking by google.
all 19 comments