Somehow the EFI partition doesn't mount and it's impossible to troubleshoot via phone, she asked me to put back the old system 😞

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 18 points 1 year ago* (5 children)

I had a colleague at work that had to redo several days of work because of the one drive thing.

The long and short of it is that they noticed that their connection was being super slow, opened up task manager to see if anything was eating bandwidth, saw one drive, went it it, correctly diagnosed that it was uploading files to it and eating up bandwidth, and then deleted all the files in one drive to stop it.

One drive decided that this meant they wanted all the local copies of the files deleted as well. Like, on the one hand, not the correct way to stop that behavior, but also like, the kind of thing a lot of people would try, and it then deleting all the local files in turn is an unintuitive outcome.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 5 child comments
  • [–] 3 points 1 year ago (1 child)

    This is so common they added a notification when you delete a lot of files. It basically prompts you, you're deleting a lot of stuff are you sure? OK, it'll be available in the recycle bin for 30 days if you change your mind.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 1 child comment
  • [–] 5 points 1 year ago

    See that’s the kicker, windows has so many “are you sure” pop ups about stuff that most people just click through them without reading the fine print. People get desensitized to it and just ignore them, or maybe even they just assume microsoft is trying to sell them on a feature they don’t care about.

    And in this case it didn’t save the files to the trash can, I imagine because it was synching local files with what was in one drive. Not the user deleting local files.

  • source
  • parent
  • [–] 5 points 1 year ago (1 child)

    Google Photos pulled the same shit after it uploaded all of the my photos on my phone without permission. Eventually I tried to delete a bunch of pictures off the app, with the trashcan button... and soon realized that they were being erased from my actual phone storage as well. No warning, or indication that it would do so. Like wtf

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 1 child comment
  • [–] [S] 4 points 1 year ago

    This pisses me off a lot

    They designed their photos app to always ask "y u no backup" and scare you "you gonna lose all your photos if u no backup" and ask to enable backup with the "no thanks" button under the fold

    Enable backup = Gmail blocked within one hour because of all the photos we all have in our phones nowadays

    So you have to pay or delete that pictures from their servers

    Pay Google: unacceptable

    Delete the pics from web: they get deleted from phone automatically and there isn't an option to only delete from web but keep in phone

    Disable the photos app on the phone: the (Google) camera app doesn't show shot preview anymore because it says photos app is missing

    They clearly had multiple meetings to make it harder as possible

  • source
  • parent