• enable developer options
  • confirm that you are not tricked
  • restart phone and re-authenticate
  • wait one day
  • confirm with biometrics that you know what you are doing
  • decide if you only want unrestricted installs for 1 week or forever
  • confirm that you accept the risks
  • enjoy the few apps that still have developers motivated to develop for a user-base willing to put up with this
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 0 points 7 months ago

It's too early to say but I think it's fairly obvious that it's just a mechanism to confirm that the owner of the device is the one making the change. If no biometrics are set, and no lock screen is set, I'd assume the check isn't needed.

  • source
  • parent