I think you can disable the "WiFi scan throttling" option in the Developer Options, which might remove this default limitation
Still no idea why Location is needed for this
Edit: Apparently it's a safety feature against malicious developers who can pinpoint your location based on scan results. To make the user aware, they force you to enable location permission