Why was the feature added if my browser is going to browse to the page anyway? [...]
it could be a privacy preserving feature.
It's just supposed to save you time and effort.
If anyone has real concerns about having their IP leaked they should be using a VPN (I think Proton has a fairly generous free tier) or TOR. Relying on a link preview feature like that would be like wearing a condom against the rain. It will technically increase your protection, but you will still be really quite exposed.
Love that you ignore all of the people who are currently seeing the popups and not understanding why.
No, I just took his objection at face value.