Many files copied to an external disk are cached, and not written immediately unless you run the "sync" command.
So when you press the "eject" icon, on most frontends a notification will tell you not to unplug it right away, once the write is complete it will send a "it is safe to remove the drive" message. This can take a couple minutes if you are writing a big file to a slow drive.