you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 0 points 1 year ago (1 child)

No now it does. Before you could unlock your bootloader and not wipe. Locking it has always required a wipe. Now both do for some reason.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 1 child comment
  • [–] 1 point 1 year ago

    It's so that someone else can't unlock your bootloader and install malware. Like if you're entering a country and they say "please unlock your phone" and they take it, they could unlock and replace the bootloader without you being able to tell.

  • source
  • parent