My router (TP Link) said it had a firmware update. I'm a responsible adult, so I update my firmware. When I log back in, I get this popup that they'd like to share my clients info.

cool...

A screenshot with text on top, a generic red background image in the middle, and buttons on bottom saying "Maybe Later" and "Authorize". The text on top says "We are now better at identifying clients! To accurately identify your connected clients, we will share your clients' information to a third-party service if you authorize it. We won't save your private information. For more details, refer to the Privacy Policy [in red, presumambly a hyperlink]".
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 2 points 1 year ago

Gotcha. So with a few exceptions they overall seem perform well across the board.

Once upon a time I dreamed of switching them all out for something better, and was actually looking forward to Tapo with matter support.

But for my uses I'm basically pulling the plug. My switches are smart enough. I can do schedules, profiles, and control with the app.

I don't need more than that and there's not really a privacy focused option as far as I know. Blocking internet is my solution to keep things contained.

  • source
  • parent