When you share a YouTube video using the share button it adds “si=some_unique_code” to the URL. If you don’t remove that it shows your personal account to anyone who receives it so that they can chat directly with you. For a lot of people this is their real name.

I’ve seen it all over Lemmy so I figured I’d mention it here! You only need the stuff before the question mark in the URL to let others see the video.

This can also be turned off in your YouTube settings under the privacy section. The setting is “channel visibility for shared links”. It will still add the si code for tracking though.

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 3 points 3 months ago

Same here, the awful thing is if they click on it, they cannot see the comments under the video and can only "reply" to you. Not sure what that should do, since the link has already been shared.

  • source
  • parent