I get this prompt sometimes when I connect my phone to my computer. It doesn't tell me what items it's referring to, but I know I don't want anything on my computer that isn't there already. But it looks like if I don't go ahead with it, the mystery items will be removed from my phone.

Anybody know what the thinking is behind this? Maybe it's just a sync setting I've set myself, but it reads like some kind of crazy ransom note :)

I chose 'Don't Transfer' in the end. I have no idea what the consequences are. I don't notice any differences on my phone.

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 4 points 1 year ago (3 children)

…iTunes Store stuff maybe? If they are purchased, and thus attached to your account, you shouldn't be able to permanently lose those items anyhow.

  • source
  • hideshow 3 child comments
  • [–] [S] 1 point 1 year ago (2 children)

    Could be. If the items are still downloadable, I wonder why they want them on both devices or neither. I’m so confused.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 2 child comments
  • [–] 2 points 1 year ago (1 child)

    This is the sync workflow that iPhones used to start with, right? The one that you used to use iTunes for at first, then Finder later.

    I mean, it's sync. Having the same state on both sides after a transaction is pretty much the name of the game.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 1 child comment
  • [–] [S] 1 point 1 year ago

    But these days purchases show up on both devices whether they’re downloaded or not. There’s a little cloud or arrow symbol beside them if I want to download them (eg Apple Music). So it’s confusing that there’s a separate policy that insist on both devices having the same content.

    But I see in macOS Finder, when I navigate to my device there’s a checkbox enabled labelled “Sync music onto iPhone”. So maybe this is why (and I likely set that myself, I rarely ever connect my phone these days).

  • source
  • parent