This is about the misleading "Update Now" button being an actual upgrade button unless you click the (i) first and uncheck the Tahoe upgrade.
You sound like someone who wanted to upgrade. If you don't want to Apple tricks the hasty clickers into accidentally upgrading and has done this for years, except this time you are forced a GUI change that is still pretty beta and not for everybody, so actually getting the user's consent matters more.

