That question came up to me, when recently working on one project I needed to restart my PC several times. And therefore, while I used 3-5 web apps I needed to log back in to each one of them again, after each restart. And I started wondering if privacy-wise that auto-clear feature is worth it or not? Has anyone maybe tested that?

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 4 points 5 months ago*

If you're sharing the computer with others and you don't delete cookies after having logged in to whatever website/service that you were using, the browser could automatically log another person in with your credentials. This is because cookies can store "sessions". While I'm not a fan of Linus himself - and I do implore you to make up your own mind on that -, one time, at bandcamp, they almost lost their whole YouTube channel because their session tokens were grabbed, and they made a great breakdown of the incident, which can be educational: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGXaAWbzl5A

I make my browsers either not save cookies at all or delete them on exit by default and manually tweak site settings for specific sites if and when I want to be able to log in "automatically".

  • source