I'm on Artix Linux and it did automatically create it after an update.

It likely just runs xdg-user-dirs-update which, in my experience, doesn't delete anything if the folder is already there (the command just changed the folder icon in the file manager when I used to run it on a WM).
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
view the rest of the comments