My router (TP Link) said it had a firmware update. I'm a responsible adult, so I update my firmware. When I log back in, I get this popup that they'd like to share my clients info.

cool...

A screenshot with text on top, a generic red background image in the middle, and buttons on bottom saying "Maybe Later" and "Authorize". The text on top says "We are now better at identifying clients! To accurately identify your connected clients, we will share your clients' information to a third-party service if you authorize it. We won't save your private information. For more details, refer to the Privacy Policy [in red, presumambly a hyperlink]".
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 17 points 1 year ago (1 child)

I was on DD-WRT back when WRT54G but the DD-WRT devs don't really get it,
They make the bad compromises, and most of their initial contributors appears to have moved on to OpenWRT.

At this point DD-WRT isn't just another alternative, it's very stale while OpenWRT is still evolving rapidly and has the larger contributor community. And they put as much emphasis on performance, bloat reduction and efficiency as they do new features.

I have a 8MB nvram TP link archer C7 and it's actually faster in the latest version, that's basically unheard of in all of software !

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 1 child comment