My router (TP Link) said it had a firmware update. I'm a responsible adult, so I update my firmware. When I log back in, I get this popup that they'd like to share my clients info.

cool...

A screenshot with text on top, a generic red background image in the middle, and buttons on bottom saying "Maybe Later" and "Authorize". The text on top says "We are now better at identifying clients! To accurately identify your connected clients, we will share your clients' information to a third-party service if you authorize it. We won't save your private information. For more details, refer to the Privacy Policy [in red, presumambly a hyperlink]".
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 10 points 1 year ago

i have always wondered how this works from the legal point. what if you disagree, should you sue to get your money back? you are buying product with some expectations, they can't just change that after you paid, can they?

it is similar with cars, what if you buy new car and the car's infotainment asks you to accept some outrageous terms and conditions, you do bother to actually read them and then decline. can you get your money back? has anyone ever tried?

  • source