How this works
Discord acts in malicious compliance with the GDPR. You are not allowed to delete your DMs through their support flow, since you can always regain access to a DM, technically speaking, since you are always a member of the DM channel on their backend.
For servers and group DMs you no longer have access to, however, Discord will comply with deletion requests. This tool helps you identify those messages and craft deletion requests for their privacy team.
For 1:1 DMs, Discord will not delete them through the privacy request process. In that case, the risky flow guides you through automating the deletion yourself via browser extensions.
More relevant than ever.
all 6 comments