My router (TP Link) said it had a firmware update. I'm a responsible adult, so I update my firmware. When I log back in, I get this popup that they'd like to share my clients info.

cool...

A screenshot with text on top, a generic red background image in the middle, and buttons on bottom saying "Maybe Later" and "Authorize". The text on top says "We are now better at identifying clients! To accurately identify your connected clients, we will share your clients' information to a third-party service if you authorize it. We won't save your private information. For more details, refer to the Privacy Policy [in red, presumambly a hyperlink]".
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 18 points 1 year ago* (last edited 1 year ago) (1 child)

I used DD-WRT for 9 years and had no reason to switch until I was forced to. At some point after a firmware upgrade my routers began to occasionally lose their configurations after power failures. Months of troubleshooting, logging errors and recreating configs made no difference. I had been concerned for some time that the project seemed to rely on one guy, and although what he's doing is amazing, it is not possible for him to thoroughly test each firmware release. When one of my routers lost its config when I was 200 miles away and I lost alarm monitoring I was forced to make a change.

Open-WRT has been a really pleasant surprise. It's completely stable on the same routers and the feature set is unbelievably broad. The learning curve was a bitch though.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 1 child comment